Generic filters
Exact matches only

Excellence in all we do

2022 School Trustee Election

On October 15, 2022 elections for local school trustees will be held in conjunction with the 2022 BC General Local Election. In general, voting locations for School Trustee will be the same as the voting location for your local government.

The nomination period for the 2022 Local Government Election will open on August 30th at 9 am and close at 4 pm on Friday, September 9th, 2022. 

Elections are conducted according to the rules and regulations set out in the Local Government Act which governs local government elections throughout British Columbia. General local government elections in British Columbia are held every four years, including the elections for the offices of School Board Trustees. 

The Board of Education of School District No. 46 (Sunshine Coast) is comprised of 7 Trustees. If you are interested in running in this year’s election, review the information below or contact us at questions@sd46.bca

This page will be updated during the election process as new information becomes available.

Voter Eligibility

To be eligible to vote in a school trustee election, a person must qualify either as a resident elector or a non-resident property elector, and must be registered or deemed to be registered as an elector of the trustee electoral area [School Act, section 39 (1)(a) and (c)]. In addition, the person must not be any of the following:

  • disqualified under the School Act, or other enactment or law, from voting in the election;
  • completing a sentence for an indictable offence, unless the person is released on probation or parole and is not in custody;
  • involuntarily confined to a psychiatric or other institution as a result of being acquitted of, or found not criminally responsible for, an offence under the Criminal Code on account of mental disorder;
  • proven to have accepted an inducement to vote.

[School Act, section 39 (1)(b) and (2)]

In addition, a person who has filed a declaration with the francophone education authority that he or she has not and will not vote in an election of school trustees is disqualified from voting at a trustee election to which the declaration applies [School Act, section 39 (2.1)].

A person is not permitted to vote more than once in a trustee election for any one school district [School Act, section 39 (4)]. Further, no corporation or its representative may be registered as an elector, and no corporation may vote [School Act, section 39 (3)].

View the Voter’s Guide to Local Elections in B.C. for additional information.

Trustee Electoral Areas & Chief Election Officer

Trustee Electoral Area


# of trustees

TEA 1 (Upper)

Sunshine Coast Regional District Electoral Areas A and B and Sechelt Indian Band Lands 6, 6A, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 12A, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 19A, 20, 20A, 21, 21A, 22, 24, 25, 26 and 27.


TEA 2 (Central)

District of Sechelt and Sechelt Indian Band Lands 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 and 28.


TEA 3 (Lower)

Town of Gibsons and Sunshine Coast Regional District Electoral Areas D, E and F.


If you would like more information on the school district’s Trustee Electoral Areas, please contact Nicholas Weswick (Chief Election Officer) or Erica Reimer (Deputy Chief Election Officer) at 604-886-8811.

Nomination Forms

Public notice of the nomination period is available here:

Nomination documents will be available during regular office hours at the following locations from August 2 to the close of the nomination period, on September 9 at 4:00 p.m.:

  • School District No. 46 Board Office – 494 South Fletcher Road, Gibsons, BC
  • District of Sechelt Municipal Hall – 2nd Floor, 5797 Cowrie Street, Sechelt, BC
  • Sechelt Indian Government District Office – 5545 Sunshine Coast Hwy, Sechelt, BC
  • Sunshine Coast Regional District Office – 1975 Field Road, Sechelt, BC
  • Town of Gibsons Municipal Hall – 474 South Fletcher Road, Gibsons, BC

Nomination Papers are considered a public record as soon as they are filed with the Chief Election Officer. The documents are available at the School Board Office for viewing during normal business hours.  For convenience, below is a list of individuals who have filed nomination papers:

Trustee Electoral Area 1 (Upper)

HAINES, Samantha

Trustee Electoral Area 2 (Central)

AMARAL, Amanda




Trustee Electoral Area 3 (Lower)



LEECH, Stacia

RUTH, Pammila

Additional information can be found at

Key Dates
  • Election Period: January 1, 2022 – September 16, 2022
  • SD46 Trustee Candidate Information Session – June 29, 2022 & August 30, 2022 (Register here)
  • Nomination Period: August 30, 2022 at 9:00 am to September 9, 2022 at 4:00 pm
  • Deadline for Receiving Originals of Faxed or Emailed Nomination Documents: September 16, 2022 at 4:00 pm
  • Campaign Period: September 17, 2022 – October 15, 2022
  • General Voting Day: October 15, 2022
  • Financing Disclosure Statement Filing Deadline: January 13, 2022
  • Financing Disclosure Statement Late Filing Deadline with $500 Late Filing Fee: February 13, 2022

Click here to download a complete listing of key dates for the 2022 General Election.

Notices and Statutory Declarations

Links to the notices and statutory declarations will be updated on the dates listed below.

Scroll to Top