I, Nicholas Weswick, Chief Election Officer, do hereby declare elected the following candidates, who received the highest number of valid votes for the office of School Trustee


Trustee Electoral Area 1 (Upper)

HAINES, Samantha (by acclamation)


Trustee Electoral Area 2 (Central)

AMARAL, Amanda (by acclamation)

HAMPVENT, Maria (by acclamation)

STE.MARIE, Tonya (by acclamation)


Trustee Electoral Area 3 (Lower)


LEECH, Stacia

RUTH, Pammila


Dated at Gibsons, BC this 22nd day of October, 2018.


Nicholas Weswick, Chief Election Officer



This page will be updated during the election process as new information becomes available.

Page Contents:


Election date and length of term:

In 2014, Bill 21, the Local Elections Statutes Amendment Act, amended the School Act to provide that a "general school election" to elect trustees for all boards of education in the province is to be held every four years [School Act, section 35]. Starting in 2018, general school elections will be held on the third Saturday of October, with the next election scheduled for Saturday, October 20, 2018. Elected school trustees will assume office on the first Monday after November 1st, provided they have taken their oath of office [School Act, sections 35 and 49].

Back to top


Voter eligibility:

To be eligible to vote in a school trustee election, a person must qualify either as a resident elector or a non-resident property elector, and must be registered or deemed to be registered as an elector of the trustee electoral area [School Act, section 39 (1)(a) and (c)]. In addition, the person must not be any of the following:

  • disqualified under the School Act, or other enactment or law, from voting in the election;
  • completing a sentence for an indictable offence, unless the person is released on probation or parole and is not in custody;
  • involuntarily confined to a psychiatric or other institution as a result of being acquitted of, or found not criminally responsible for, an offence under the Criminal Code on account of mental disorder;
  • proven to have accepted an inducement to vote.

[School Act, section 39 (1)(b) and (2)]

In addition, a person who has filed a declaration with the francophone education authority that he or she has not and will not vote in an election of school trustees is disqualified from voting at a trustee election to which the declaration applies [School Act, section 39 (2.1)].

A person is not permitted to vote more than once in a trustee election for any one school district [School Act, section 39 (4)]. Further, no corporation or its representative may be registered as an elector, and no corporation may vote [School Act, section 39 (3)].

View the Voter's Guide to Local Elections in B.C. for additional information.

Back to top


Trustee Electoral Areas:

Trustee Electoral Area


# of trustees

TEA 1 (Upper)

Sunshine Coast Regional District Electoral Areas A and B and Sechelt Indian Band Lands 6, 6A, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 12A, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 19A, 20, 20A, 21, 21A, 22, 24, 25, 26 and 27.


TEA 2 (Central)

District of Sechelt and Sechelt Indian Band Lands 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 and 28.


TEA 3 (Lower)

Town of Gibsons and Sunshine Coast Regional District Electoral Areas D, E and F.



If you would like more information on the school district's Trustee Electoral Areas, please contact Nicholas Weswick (CEO) or Erica Reimer (DCEO) at 604-886-8811.


Back to top



Nomination Papers are considered a public record as soon as they are filed with the Chief Election Officer. The documents are available at the School Board Office for viewing during normal business hours.  For convenience, below is a list of individuals who have filed nomination papers:

Trustee Electoral Area 1 (Upper):

  • HAINES, Samantha


Trustee Electoral Area 2 (Central):

  • AMARAL, Amanda
  • HAMPVENT, Maria
  • STE. MARIE, Tonya


Trustee Electoral Area 3 (Lower):

  • GIRARD, Sue
  • LEECH, Stacia
  • PENNER, Charlene
  • RUTH, Pammila


Candidate contact information


Back to top


Nomination forms:

Nomination documents will be available during regular office hours at the following locations until September 14th, 2018:

  • School District No. 46 Board Office – 494 South Fletcher Road, Gibsons, BC
  • District of Sechelt Municipal Hall – 2nd Floor, 5797 Cowrie Street, Sechelt, BC
  • Sechelt Indian Government District Office – 5545 Sunshine Coast Hwy, Sechelt, BC
  • Sunshine Coast Regional District Office – 1975 Field Road, Sechelt, BC
  • Town of Gibsons Municipal Hall – 474 South Fletcher Road, Gibsons, BC


View the Notice of Nomination


Back to top


Key Dates:

  • Election Period: January 1, 2018 – September 21, 2018
  • Nomination Period: September 4, 2018 at 9:00 am – September 14, 2018 at 4:00 pm
  • Deadline for Receiving Originals of Faxed or Emailed Nomination Documents: September 21, 2018 at 4:00 pm
  • Campaign Period: September 22, 2018 – October 20, 2018
  • General Voting Day: October 20, 2018
  • Financing Disclosure Statement Filing Deadline: January 18, 2018
  • Financing Disclosure Statement Late Filing Deadline with $500 Late Filing Fee: February 18, 2018


Back to top

Important information for candidates:


Back to top


Statutory Declarations:

Back to top


Statutory Declarations:


Back to top




Back to top




Nicholas Weswick, Chief Elections Officer - 604-886-4484

Erica Reimer, Deputy Chief Elections Officer - 604-886-4483


Back to top

News & Updates